Inactivity – Instagramming vs Blogging

I guess it had been rather obvious of the late these days for the inactivity for the site. Firstly, I would like to sincerely apologize for not updating the blog as much as it should have been done; gone were the days that something new gets posted every two days. Jiaksimipng was started prior to my enlistment to National Service and I was fortunate for having the luxury of time to go around, trying out new places and different types of food while serving the nation due to my vocation. Earlier on this year, posts came out at a slower rate as I had exhausted most of the long overdue drafts stagnating around, while the blog’s file server faced storage issues where photos had to be deleted to make space for newer posts. Time soon caught on and there was simply not enough time to juggle around, which is why there is a lack of fresh content as there were other prior commitments outside of Jiaksimipng to handle.

Turning to other social media platforms (i.e. Instagram) is not a move that I personally felt good about, but it was something that was the most appropriate thing to do. I have always wanted to revive the blog after my ORD, but it’s not easy to run a blog, for there are much more considerations than just simply posting something about what you have ate at a certain place. Ultimately blogging is something that I have wanted to do, but drafting out a quality post takes into the account of many factors. Put it out simply, you need to have time, the right amount of people to bring to places to share, have enough cash to order a good variety of food so as to have enough areas to cover and make recommendations; such requirements are not easy to meet in reality. Yes, one might suggest revisiting a place again to try out more of the menu in a second round, but in an age where restaurants, cafes and other eateries start popping up around Singapore, it’s hard to even keep up to the newly-opened places, let alone to plan time to revisit the ones you have already went already or to go somewhere that you have had set your eyes on for a long time. Instagram takes most of the considerations away however, making it simpler to go to a place and write a short review about what you have had, especially since I have ORD-ed and entered the workforce now. I could choose to upload a single dish that I could afford that I had during some free time, share how it is like without having to consider bringing people to go to a particular place. It saves a lot of thinking and planning that is required for a full-length blog post that I might not have the time to write at times.

Ultimately I have started Jiaksimipng as a log for myself on places that I have visited, food that I have ate, the experiences and feelings that I had while I am there. It started off with a passion to share with others what’s good, and it grew on further and I do feel touched whenever people head to a spot that I have recommended, tell others and even sometimes coming to me telling me how they have enjoyed the food. It does not only stop at the consumer end of the house, where the patrons are happy to eat something good, but it also feels good to see some eateries grow as time goes along, back then hardly-noticed by others but now enjoying brisk business from the word-of-mouth that went around. It’s a rewarding experience that not everyone gets to see behind-the-scenes.

All-in-all, this is not a goodbye to blogging. I have been, and still would be rolling out posts but in a more random schedule whenever time allows me to write a post, or so long as it is quality to be posted; I would do it. It’s the passion that’s the drive, and while it may take some time to post here, follow me on my @the_XW on Instagram or even @the_XW on Burpple to see what I have been eating and where I have been as I have been rather active on these two platforms still; this way I would still be able to share what I love with you all through different means that is more appropriate for me now.

[PS: See you guys on 30 October 2015, Friday; a new post on the tasting that I have had at Masizzim would be rolling out under the Food Tastings tab. You heard it here first! πŸ˜‰ ]

Cheers,
Jiaksimipng

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Qiuuing says:

    I totally feel you! It’s really difficult to churn out blog posts with a full time job, whereas Instagramming is less of a hassle!

    1. jiaksimipng says:

      Haha glad to hear from someone that understands how it’s like too! πŸ™‚

  2. Jocey says:

    I thought you had given up blogging, but with this post as assurance I’m glad you didn’t! Fighting (:

    1. jiaksimipng says:

      Hahaha thanks for those words! Really appreciate that πŸ™‚

  3. Charmaine says:

    Heading over to your instagram to stalk your yummy picture uploads now.. haha

    1. jiaksimipng says:

      Hahaha noticed that just now! Thanks! πŸ˜€

  4. love this heartfelt entry!

    1. jiaksimipng says:

      Thanks; good to hear from someone who can relate to it πŸ™‚

  5. JON says:

    Jon Loong was here

    1. jiaksimipng says:

      I have seen this πŸ‘βœ‹

Leave a Reply

