Percolate – Blk 136 Bedok North Ave 3

(Percolate had since expanded into their neighbouring unit and went through a round of renovations before its re-launch. Click here to read more about Percolate 2.0.)

Imagine the joy I had when I found out this cafe while looking around on Instagram and realised they were just one bus away (though the journey time is slightly above an hour); I knew I had to try them out on my off day.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Coming in, its quite unexpected to find a cafe situated in the heartlands so charming. Clean and minimalist, much of the cafe is made up of brick, cement and wooden accents. For a moment I thought I was in fact in a cafe at Tanjong Pagar. For some strange reason it also bore much resemblance to the old Stranger’s Reunion before the renovation, which is currently reopened as Waffle Slayer.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

(Earl Grey Bundt Cake)

The owners have intentions of serving sandwiches and waffles in the future, but for now only bakes from a homebaker are available. Earl Grey cakes have always caught my attention, and I got myself the Earl Grey Bundt Cake. A mistake, I thought, as the cake was so dry it was so hard to cut through, not to mention that extra dry crust which seem to be created as such to replicate a crusty exterior.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

(Lemon Tart)

The Lemon Tart was however great with the first few bites. I love how tart it was, until I got till halfway and it seemed a wee bit too sour for me (I have a low resistance to sour stuff though so don’t entirely take my word for it). The crust was easy to cut through, but they used one similar to egg tarts instead. Not my personal preference but honestly nothing wrong with it either.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

(White – 5 Oz)

On the other hand, I was blown away by the quality of the coffee here. They use Papa Pahelta Terra Firma for their coffee, and my White (5Oz) was fruity and just of a comfortable level of acidity; the right cuppa to perk me up for the start of the day.

Percolate has the right vibe and the right coffee for a third-wave coffee movement cafe. Probably the bakes could be more refined, which the owners told me that they would feedback to their homebaker about the Earl Grey Bundt Cake, but I believe this little neighbourhood secret would be a up-and-coming spot once it gets more known. Visit before they get too popular!

Percolate
Blk 136 Bedok North Avenue 3
#01-152
Singapore 460136

Web Page: http://percolate.sg/
Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/PercolateCoffee/

3 Comments Add yours

  1. meds says:

    this looks like something to try when I make it to that part of Singapore 🙂 pity about the cake though.

    1. jiaksimipng says:

      You definitely should especially for the coffee. Do give the Banana Date Loaf a try if you can; tried it when I visited again yesterday and it was filled with mushy bananas and chewy dates; definitely way better than the Earl Grey Bundt Cake!

Leave a Reply

